Athletics News

Student journalists honored with 25 individual and 10 publication awards at Minnesota High School Press Association convention
Posted 10/14/2019 11:37AM

Dozens of SPA student journalists earned both individual and publication awards at the 2019 Minnesota High School Press Association (MHSPA) State Journalism Convention on October 10, 2019.

Student journalists representing The Rubicon newsppaer, RubicOnline digital newspaper, Iris: Art and Lit magazine, Aureus magazine, and the Ibid yearbook attended the convention with Upper School teacher and Director of Publications Kathryn Campbell, and attended a keynote session on visual journalism and a wide variety of breakout sessions. In addition, Campbell and Iris Editor in Chief   Quinn Christensen co-presented a session on starting a literary magazine titled "See The Possibilities"; Quinn also facilitated a newspaper roundtable in her role as Editor In Chief (EIC) of The Rubicon with the Director of RubicOnline Melissa Nie. Ibid EICs Alessandra Costalonga and Ashley Su also facilitated a yearbook roundtable. 

“I am honored that our students were asked to take on so many roles at the conference,” Campbell says. “It says a great deal about the success of their individual publications, and about how the larger student journalism community respects their ability to collaborate and share with others in a way that is generous and inclusive.”

The students and publications winning awards at the convention are:

Convention Best of Show

  • The Rubicon - 1st Place
  • RubicOnline - 2nd Place
  • Aureus - 3rd Place
  • Ibid - 6th Place
  • Iris: Art + Lit - 1st Place

The Rubicon / RubicOnline

  • Broadcast Feature Story - 3rd Place - Mimi Geller
  • Newspaper Centerspread Design - 3rd Place - Jasper Green
  • Newspaper Centerspread Design - 4th Place - Quinn Christensen
  • Newspaper Editorial Cartoon - 1st Place - Melissa Nie
  • Newspaper (RubicOnline) Editorial - 2nd Place - Staff
  • Newspaper Feature Photo - 1st Place - Claire Hallaway
  • Newspaper Feature Story (RubicOnline) - 1st Place - Isabel Saavedra-Weis
  • Newspaper News Story - 2nd Place - Evelyn Lillemoe
  • Newspaper / Newsmagazine Page One Design - 4th Place - Quinn Christensen
  • Newspaper Single Page Design - 5th Place - Meagan Massie, Lucy Benson
  • Newspaper Sports Story - 3rd Place - Ellie Nowakowski
  • Online Multimedia Package - 2nd Place - Noah Raaum
  • Online Website General Excellence - 1st Place - RubicOnline


Iris: Art + Lit

  • Magazine Art or Illustration - 2nd Place - Ashley Su
  • Magazine Art or Illustration - 3rd Place - Katherine Goodman
  • Magazine Cover Design - 1st Place - Quinn Christensen
  • Magazine Photograph - 2nd Place - Elea Besse
  • Magazine Photograph - 3rd Place - Ben Hanson
  • Magazine Poem - 1st Place - Aidan Lanz
  • Magazine Poem - 2nd Place - Will Rinkoff
  • Magazine Spread Design - 1st Place - Quinn Christensen
  • Magazine Spread Design - 2nd Place - Ashley Su



  • Yearbook Sports Copy - 5th Place - Ethan Hla
  • Yearbook Spread Design - 3rd Place - Garrett Small
  • Yearbook Theme / Concept Package - 4th Place - Staff (Ashley Su)


Journalism Educators of Minnesota

  • The Rubicon - All-State Gold
  • RubicOnline - All-State Gold
  • Aureus - All-State Silver
  • Ibid - All-State Silver
  • Iris: Art + Lit - All-State Gold

1150 Goodrich Avenue, St. Paul MN 55105
Main school line: 651-698-2451
Goodrich front desk: 651-696-1560 
Goodrich attendance line: 651-696-1414
1712 Randolph Avenue, St. Paul MN 55105
Main school line: 651-698-2451
Randolph attendance line: 651-696-1410
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite