An independent day school serving grades K-12 | St. Paul, MN

Twelve SPA seniors named National Merit Semifinalists

Congratulations to the 12 members of the Class of 2021 who have been named National Merit Semifinalists by the College Board. The 12 Semifinalists are Noel Abraham, Rafael Barocas, Maya Choi, Henry Hoeglund, TJ Isberg, Samuel Konstan, Maxanne Millerhaller, Michael Moran, Alek Radsan, Julia Scott, Gabriella Thompson, and Isabel Toghramadjian.

The SPA Semifinalists represent 11% of the Class of 2021; nationally, less than 1% of high school seniors are named Semifinalists. A total of about 16,000 high school seniors from across the country were named Semifinalists this year, including 288 from Minnesota.

Semifinalists are selected based on scores on a PSAT qualifying test and will compete for some 7,600 scholarships worth more than $30 million, to be awarded in the spring of 2021. More than 1.5 million juniors from about 21,000 high schools entered the competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. These seniors, most of whom will advance to Finalist status, must submit a scholarship application that includes an outstanding academic record, a recommendation from their schools, an essay, and SAT scores than confirm the results of the PSAT.