An independent day school serving grades K-12 | St. Paul, MN

Spartan Tennis sweeps Class A State Titles in Team, Doubles and Singles Competition

Spartan Tennis sweeps Class A State Titles in Team, Doubles and Singles Competition

After another phenomenal season, SPA boys' tennis capped off a remarkable postseason by capturing Class A State championship titles in team, doubles, and singles competition. 

This is the third year in a row that Spartan boys' tennis has been crowned Class A State champions. The team's march through the postseason began the same way it did a year ago, with two resounding wins in Section 4A competition, defeating Humboldt 7-0 in the quarterfinals and Academy of Holy Angels 7-0 in the semifinals setting up a rematch of the section final a year ago against Mounds Park Academy. SPA came out on top with another shutout, 7-0, to qualify for the State tournament. At State, the Spartans never lost in the first two rounds as they defeated Minnewaska 7-0 in the quarters and Rock Ridge 7-0 in the semifinals. In the championship, they defeated IMAC rival Breck 6-1 for the Class A title. In the Star Tribune article about the team's win, Spartan tennis head coach Luke Elifson says that SPA tennis is becoming a dynasty: "I told them this season that we had the opportunity for greatness," Elifson said. "This season, that meant staying composed and staying poised. We performed under the bright lights of the state tournament. We're a dynasty, because we embraced the opportunity."

This is the second year in a row that SPA has captured the championship in doubles competition. The Spartans sent two pairs to state: Leo Benson '24/Maik Nguyen '24 and Allan Wang '26/Isaak Senaratna '27. Both pairs would march through section play convincingly and played one another for a trip to state. In the Section 4A championship, Benson and Nguyen would win 6-4, 6-2 but Wang and Senaratna would advance as well. At State, Benson and Nguyen rolled through state play defeating Benson/KMS 6-1, 6-0 in round 1, Providence Academy 7-5, 6-1 in round 2, and Schaeffer Academy 6-2, 6-3 in the semifinals to set up a showdown with Mound-Westonka in the championship. In the championship match, they would win convincingly 6-1, 6-2 to repeat as champions. The doubles trophies didn't stop there as Wang/Senaratna advanced all the way to the semifinals before losing to Mound-Westonka. The pair would go on to defeat Schaeffer Academy 7-6 (1), 6-4 to take home third place.

It was also a championship year for singles players Zahir Hassan '27 and Winston Arvidson '28, both of whom advanced through section play with ease. Like their doubles teammates, Hassan and Arvidson played one another for the section crown with Winston claiming the title of Section Champion and both players qualifying for state. At state, Zahir defeated Cotter 6-1, 6-1, Litchfield 6-2, 6-0, and Breck 6-1, 6-1, and Winston defeated Mound-Westonka 6-0, 6-2, Breck 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 and Rochester 6-1, 6-2, setting up a rematch of the section championship between the two Spartan teammates, this time for a state title. The match ended with Hassan winning the title 6-4, 6-1 and Arvidson taking the second spot on the podium. 

Congratulations to all on a fantastic postseason!