An independent day school serving grades K-12 | St. Paul, MN

30 SPA students named to NSPA Journalism Honor Roll

The National Scholastic Press Association, the nation’s largest association for high school, junior high and middle school journalists, has inducted approximately 1,300 high-school scholars and student journalists into its 2020 Journalism Honor Roll, including 30 students from SPA:

  • Salah Abdulkarim, The Rubicon
  • Julia Baron, The Rubicon
  • Lucy Benson, The Rubicon
  • Henry Burkhardt, RubicOnline
  • Lara Cayci, RubicOnline
  • Elle Chen, RubicOnline
  • Noor Christava, Photojournalism
  • Quinn Christensen, The Rubicon, Iris: Art + Lit
  • Eloise Duncan, The Rubicon
  • Adrienne Gaylord, The Rubicon
  • Lucia Granja, RubicOnline
  • Sam Hanson, Aureus
  • Charlie Johnson, The Rubicon
  • Zekiah Juliusson, RubicOnline
  • Lizzie Kristal, The Rubicon
  • Liv Larsen, RubicOnline
  • Lori Li, Ibid
  • Evelyn Lillemoe, The Rubicon
  • Meagan Massie, The Rubicon
  • Melissa Nie, RubicOnline
  • Maren Ostrem, The Rubicon
  • Lynn Reynolds, RubicOnline
  • Jenny Ries, The Rubicon
  • Annika Rock, RubicOnline
  • Sharee Roman, The Rubicon
  • Martha Sanchez, RubicOnline
  • Will Schavee, RubicOnline
  • Tommy Stolpestad, The Rubicon
  • Ashley Su, Ibid
  • Elizabeth Trevathan, RubicOnline

Students can qualify for the honor roll by serving for at least two years on a student media staff, in broadcast, newspaper, magazine, online, or yearbook, and by earning a 3.5 or higher grade-point average on a 4.0 scale. All Honor Roll inductees will receive a certificate of recognition and senior inductees are eligible to compete for a $1,000 scholarship, and NSPA will announce the scholarship winner in May.

Congrats to our student-journalists!